Departure: T-48 Hours

10 Oct

Excited.  Nervous.  More excited than nervous.  That’s how I’m feeling just 48 hours before leaving for India from D.C. on my first ever international flight.  Do I like flying?  No.  Do I enjoy sitting still for extended periods of time?  No.  Do I sleep on planes?  Not usually, since I usually am stuck in the seat in front of the couple with the screaming baby.  But this time, I’m armed with a bottle of Tylenol PM, earplugs, and an eyemask.

It’s 2 a.m. and I’m with my friend Jen in D.C. watching the Food Network.  Chef Michael Symon must decide which Philadelphia establishment has the better cheesesteak–Pat’s or Geno’s?  I don’t even eat cheesesteaks (because I don’t eat cheese), but this has me salivating.  The thought of not having beef for a year is just down-right depressing.  In the last two weeks, I’ve eaten more hamburgers and steak than I have in the last two years.  And, I didn’t stop there.  I’ve basically spent the last three months in a fattening hut.  By hut, I mean my childhood home in Louisiana, where I spent the summer preparing for this trip.  And, by fattening…well, let’s put it this way:  Ice cream is my weakness, and there is a Dairy Queen down the street.  I should have felt guilty about indulging twice a week, but DQ had conveniently introduced the mini blizzard just weeks after I moved back home.

I must admit, I had a lot of fun putting on these five extra pounds.  My jeans may not button as easily, but hey, I’m going to India and am bound to get Delhi belly within just hours of arrival.  A few days of diarrhea, and problem solved.

On today’s agenda:  Going to the gym in an attempt to work off the Chocolate Extreme Blizzard I had last night, visiting a winery with Jen, then rounding out the day with late-night happy hour at the Palm.  Filet mignon sliders, anyone?
7 Responses to “Departure: T-48 Hours”

  1. Chrissy G. October 11, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Clearly Pat’s kicks Geno’s ass. And you can get a cheesesteak, minus the cheese. Get it “wit” onions, but no wiz (although the wiz is what truly makes it). Then you can get diarrhea on the mean streets of Philly instead of Mumbai!!

  2. MomDC October 11, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    Oh dear…………..

  3. Lynn Teague October 11, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    I see that you inherited your mother’s sense of humor!

    I look forward to following your adventure, Steph. Safe journey to you, and I hope your sleep remedies work so that you are bright-eyed and bushy-tailed upon arrival!

  4. Bill D. October 13, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    Oh, this is going to be an exciting blog to follow. I do hope you have a safe, enjoyable and memorable trip and that you don’t “run” out of adventures. I will forward your blog to Andrew as this sounds like something he will enjoy. Maybe you should switch to Imodium shakes in India rather than Blizzards. Fun fact of the day about India—The name India is derived from a very fast running river called the Indus (could this be where diahhera came to be referred to as the runs?) Love you and we will take good care of Tee for you!

  5. carolyn studney October 13, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    I still can’t believe you don’t like cheese!

  6. Mom October 14, 2010 at 1:59 am #

    Hon, it wasn’t all DQ’s fault. Maybe it was the butterbeans and pork roast, the fried catfish and white beans, or Gold Brick cake?

    Can’t button your jeans? At least you can get into yours!

    But, I’ll agree with you-it was fun!

    • Bill D. October 14, 2010 at 11:27 am #

      Gold Brick Cake????? Now that sounds scrumptous.

Leave a Reply

