Goa: An Expat’s (and Cows’) Paradise

8 Nov

I had only been here in Bombay for three weeks, but the getaway to Goa was much needed.   Indians and non-Indians who had visited Goa told me that a trip there was a must.  So, what else was I supposed to do when, during my first week here, a couple of expats invited me to join them for the Goan weekend that they had planned?  I booked my flight and room immediately.

We spent Thursday to Sunday in Palolem, a beach in southern Goa, known for being a bit more relaxed and low-key compared to the more developed beach areas in the north famous for the party scene.  Don’t get me wrong, there was no shortage of partying this weekend.  I don’t think I ever paid more than $2 for a drink, and no, that wasn’t a special.  That’s how cheap drinks are in Goa!  In Bombay, a rum & Diet Coke would cost me at least $5; Jack Daniels, at least $10.  NOT IN GOA!

Our group of 10 sprawled out under umbrellas on the beach all day, taking a break only to eat the fantastic local food.  By night, we partied at the only bar on the beach that we could find, along with hundreds of other expats and the handful of Indians vacationing there too.

For now, check out some photos from the weekend.  More stories to come later.

Rickshaws at the entrance to the Palolem Beach Resort

The beach at Palolem

To quote Vince Vaughan in Wedding Crashers, "Tattoo on the lower back--might as well be a bull's eye."

The usual daytime activity

Palolem Beach Resort

Cows on the beach - yep!

Goan sunset from our boat ride

Goan sunset

2 Responses to “Goa: An Expat’s (and Cows’) Paradise”

  1. Marilyn Terrell November 8, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    Happy to see that cows get to vacation here too!

  2. Jackie November 11, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    Absolutely stunning! You know I love a good sunset! Hope you had a very relaxing vacay honey! xxoo

Leave a Reply

